EFTA

efta_de

The European Free Trade Association (EFTA) was established in 1960 by the Stockholm Convention. The original purpose of this intergovernmental organisation was to remove customs duties on industrial products in trade among its Member States.

The current members of EFTA are Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. In contrast to the European Union (EU), EFTA is not a customs union. Individual EFTA States are basically free to set their own customs tariffs and arrange other foreign trade measures vis-à-vis non-EFTA States (so-called third countries).

Three of the four EFTA States, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, are parties to the Agreement on the European Economic Area (EEA). An EFTA Surveillance Authority and an EEA Court were set up in order to implement those countries' obligations under the EEA Agreement.

EFTA States have been using EFTA as a platform for the joint negotiation of free trade agreements with third countries outside the EU. 22 such agreements are currently in force and a number of agreements are being negotiated.

Last modification 04.12.2018

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/internationale_organisationen/efta.html

EFTA

efta_de

Die Europäische Freihandelsassoziation (EFTA, European Free Trade Association) wurde 1960 durch die Unterzeichnung der Stockholmer Konvention gegründet. Ursprüngliches Ziel dieser zwischenstaatlichen Organisation war es, im Handel unter den Mitgliedstaaten die Zölle auf Industrieerzeugnisse zu beseitigen.

Die gegenwärtigen EFTA-Mitglieder sind Island, Liechtenstein, Norwegen und die Schweiz. Im Unterschied etwa zur EU ist die EFTA keine Zollunion. Dies bedeutet u.a., dass die einzelnen EFTA-Staaten ihre Zolltarife und andere aussenhandelspolitische Massnahmen grundsätzlich gegenüber nicht-EFTA-Staaten (Drittstaaten) eigenständig festlegen können.

Die EFTA-Staaten Island, Liechtenstein und Norwegen sind Mitglieder des Abkommens über den Europäischen Wirtschaftsraum (EWR). Zur Umsetzung der EWR-Verpflichtungen wurden eine EFTA-Aufsichtsbehörde und ein EWR-Gerichtshof errichtet.

Schliesslich haben die EFTA-Staaten seit den 1990er Jahren die EFTA als Plattform für die gemeinsame Aushandlung von Freihandelsabkommen mit sog. Drittstaaten ausserhalb der EU genutzt. Gegenwärtig sind 22 solche Abkommen abgeschlossen und weitere werden laufend ausgehandelt.
 

Letzte Änderung 07.04.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/de/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/internationale_organisationen/efta.html