International Agreements (Mutual Recognition Agreements - MRA)

Products must comply with the technical regulations of the importing country and their conformity with these regulations needs to be assessed for them to be placed on the market. If the technical regulations of the two countries are different, two product ranges may need to be produced, one for each market. Furthermore, if the conformity assessments (such as tests, inspections or certification) carried out by the exporting country are not recognised by the importing country, the producer must have the product assessed in the exporting country as well as the importing country (double conformity assessment), if the product is placed on both markets. Different technical regulations or a failure to recognise conformity assessments pose a barrier to international trade, which is considered a technical barriers to trade. Mutual Recognition Agreements (MRA) are one instrument to remove such barriers to trade.

Objective and scope of MRA

The MRA’s objective is to reduce technical barriers to trade and to provide products largely unfettered access to foreign markets. There are two types of MRA: the so called «traditional» agreements and the «extended» agreements.

Traditional Mutual Recognition Agreements

In a traditional MRA, an importing country can pledge to recognise the conformity assessments carried out in an exporting country under the following two conditions: (1) the product in question has been produced according to the technical regulations of the importing country, and (2) the conformity assessment was conducted by a conformity assessment body of the exporting country which has been recognized under the MRA by the importing country (avoid double conformity assessments). The Mutual Recognition Agreement between Switzerland and Canada is based on this approach.

Extended Mutual Recognition Agreements

If the technical regulations of two Parties to an agreement are harmonised in certain product sectors, they may be deemed equivalent under the extended MRA. In that case, only one conformity assessment needs to be carried out for a product to be marketed in both countries. The assessment can be conducted by a competent conformity assessment body of the exporting country (recognised under the agreement) according to the technical regulations of the exporting country. The Agreement concluded between Switzerland and the EU, and the Agreement concluded between Switzerland and the EEA/EFTA states follow this extended approach.  

 

Mutual Recognition Agreements on conformity assessments are an important trade policy tool for the elimination of technical barriers to trade, and as such are recognised by the WTO.

Contact List

For any queries concerning the MRA in general or specific product areas, please contact the appropriate contact person.

Specialist staff
Last modification 27.02.2018

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Technische_Handelshemmnisse/Mutual_Recognition_Agreement_MRA0.html

Staatsvertragliche Vereinbarungen (Mutual Recognition Agreements - MRA)

Damit Produkte in Verkehr gebracht werden dürfen, müssen sie den technischen Vorschriften des Importstaates entsprechen und auf die Konformität mit diesen überprüft werden. Unterscheiden sich die technischen Vorschriften zweier Staaten, müssen für die beiden Absatzmärkte unterschiedliche Produktserien hergestellt werden. Werden die im Exportstaat durchgeführten Konformitätsbewertungen (Prüfung, Inspektion, Zertifizierung) nicht anerkannt, muss der Hersteller das Exportprodukt zudem im importierenden Staat überprüfen lassen (doppelte Konformitätsbewertung). Unterschiedliche technische Vorschriften oder die fehlende Anerkennung von Konformitätsbewertungen stellen eine Behinderung des grenzüberschreitenden Handels und somit ein technisches Handelshemmnis dar. Abkommen über die gegenseitige Anerkennung von Konformitätsbewertungen (Englisch: Mutual Recognition Agreements – MRA) sind ein Instrument zur Beseitigung solcher technischen Handelshemmnisse.

Ziel und Inhalt der MRA

Das Ziel von MRA ist es, technische Handelshemmnisse abzubauen und einen möglichst ungehinderten Zugang zu ausländischen Märkten zu erreichen. Es werden zwei Formen von MRA unterschieden: Sogenannte „traditionelle“ und „erweiterte“ Abkommen über die gegenseitige Anerkennung.

Traditionelle Abkommen über die gegenseitige Anerkennung

Im Rahmen von traditionellen MRA kann sich ein Importstaat zur Anerkennung der im Exportstaat durchgeführten Konformitätsbewertungen verpflichten, wenn das Produkt in Übereinstimmung mit den technischen Vorschriften des Importlandes hergestellt und die Konformitätsprüfung von einer durch das Abkommen anerkannten Konformitätsbewertungsstelle des Exportstaates durchgeführt worden ist (Vermeidung doppelter Konformitätsbewertungen). Das Abkommen zwischen der Schweiz und Kanada verfolgt diesen Ansatz.

Erweiterte Abkommen über die gegenseitige Anerkennung

Sind die technischen Vorschriften zweier Vertragsstaaten in gewissen Produktsektoren harmonisiert, können diese im Abkommen als gleichwertig anerkannt werden. In diesem Fall ist für den Marktzutritt für diese beiden Staaten nur eine Konformitätsbewertung erforderlich, welche basierend auf den technischen Vorschriften des Exportstaates von einer durch das Abkommen anerkannten Konformitätsbewertungsstelle des Exportstaates ausgestellt werden kann. Das Abkommen zwischen der Schweiz und der EU sowie das Abkommen zwischen der Schweiz und den EWR/EFTA-Staaten verfolgen diesen vertieften Ansatz.

 

 

Abkommen über die gegenseitige Anerkennung von Konformitätsbewertungen sind ein handelspolitisch bedeutsames und im Rahmen der WTO anerkanntes Instrument zur Beseitigung technischer Handelshemmnisse.

Liste der Kontaktpersonen

Bei Fragen zu MRA im Allgemeinen oder zu einzelnen Produktebereichen im Speziellen wenden Sie sich bitte an die zuständigen Kontaktpersonen.  

Fachkontakt
Letzte Änderung 21.03.2017

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/de/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Technische_Handelshemmnisse/Mutual_Recognition_Agreement_MRA0.html