MRA Switzerland - EU

The agreement between the Swiss Confederation and the European Community on mutual recognition in relation to conformity assessment (MRA) entered into force on 1 June 2002 as one of the seven agreements concluded as part of a package known as the «Bilateral agreements I». The MRA is an instrument designed to remove technical barriers to the trade of industrial goods between Switzerland and the EU. It applies to the most important product sectors (such as machinery, medical devices, electrical equipment, construction products, lifts, biocidal products). The agreement covers more than a quarter of the value of all Swiss exports to the EU, and more than a third of all imports from the EU.

Better access to the EU market

The agreement ensures that, for the products covered by the agreement, Swiss manufacturers and conformity assessment bodies have, to the greatest extent possible, the same access to the EU market as their EU or EEA competitors. The MRA reduces the time needed and costs incurred to place products on the respective foreign markets.
The agreement helps to reduce significant technical barriers to trade by confirming on the one hand the harmonisation of Swiss and EU technical regulations, and on the other hand by eliminating the need for two conformity assessments, since one conformity assessment is sufficient to access the Swiss and EU market. Such an assessment can be carried out according to Swiss or EU technical regulations by a conformity assessment body recognised under the agreement.

How mutual recognition works

For most product sectors covered by the agreement, Swiss and EU technical regulation are deemed equivalent. The conformity assessments required for the EU internal market can be carried out by a Swiss conformity assessment body recognised under the agreement, and according to Swiss technical regulations. This applies to all the products covered by the agreement irrespective of their origin. In the two product sectors where the Swiss and EU legislations are not deemed equivalent (hot water boilers and a specific category of measuring instruments), products to be exported into the EU must be manufactured according to EU technical regulations. However, the required conformity assessment can still be carried out by a Swiss conformity assessment body recognised under the agreement.

Content of the agreement

The agreement consists of a general part and two annexes. The general part sets out several horizontal provisions that apply to all product sectors covered by the agreement. Annex 1 includes the sectoral chapters that cover the different product sectors while Annex 2 sets out general rules which apply to the designation of conformity assessment bodies recognised under the agreement.

In line with Article 10 of the MRA agreement, a Joint Committee is formed consisting of one representative for each part, which is charged with overseeing the orderly functioning of the agreement. The Joint Committee can amend the annexes to the agreement through a joint decision.

The Joint Committee’s most recent decision:

Decisions by the Joint Committee are drafted in English. It enters into force on 22.12.2017. A translation into the three official languages of the Swiss Confederation are published as soon as possible in the Official Compilation of the Federal Legislation.

Annex 1 of the Agreement (product specific provisions [chapters])

The chapters in annex 1 are divided systematically into five sections. They list the Swiss and EU legislative, regulatory and administrative provisions which apply to the product sectors, and define the scope of the agreement. The chapters also include some sector specific provisions, such as information exchange, market surveillance cooperation.

Recognised conformity assessment bodies

By designating a conformity assessment body the responsible Swiss authority confirms that the body fulfils the relevant technical regulations to carry out a conformity assessment.  Accreditation may be a prerequisite for the designation (and recognition) of a conformity assessment body.

List of recognised conformity assessment bodies

The following list contains all conformity assessment bodies notified by Switzerland and recognised by the EU.

A list (PDF, 617 kB, 20.02.2018) of all EU recognised conformity assessment bodies (incl. those in Switzerland) can be found in the NANDO database (New Approach Notified and Designated Organisations). For further information (including the list of conformity assessment bodies according to the «Old Approach») please refer to the European Commission's MRA website.

CE Marking

Information regarding CE Marking can be found here.
 


Specialist staff
Last modification 11.06.2018

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Technische_Handelshemmnisse/Mutual_Recognition_Agreement_MRA0/MRA_Schweiz_EU.html

MRA Schweiz – EU

Das Abkommen zwischen der Schweizerischen Eidgenossenschaft und der Europäischen Union über die gegenseitige Anerkennung von Konformitätsbewertungen (MRA) trat als Bestandteil des Pakets der sieben Abkommen der Bilateralen I am 1. Juni 2002 in Kraft. Das MRA ist ein Instrument zum Abbau technischer Handelshemmnisse bei der Vermarktung zahlreicher Industrieerzeugnisse zwischen der Schweiz und der EU. Es gilt für die wichtigsten Produktsektoren (z.B. Maschinen, Medizinprodukte, elektrische Geräte, Bauprodukte, Aufzüge, Biozidprodukte). Das Abkommen deckt wertmässig mehr als einen Viertel aller Exporte der Schweiz in die EU und mehr als einen Drittel aller Warenimporte aus der EU ab.

Bedeutung des Abkommens: Erleichterter Zugang zum EU-Binnenmarkt

Mit dem Abkommen wird sichergestellt, dass für die schweizerischen Hersteller und Konformitätsbewertungsstellen in den vom Abkommen abgedeckten Produktsektoren auf dem europäischen Markt möglichst dieselben Marktzutrittsbedingungen gelten wie für ihre Konkurrenten aus der EU beziehungsweise dem EWR. Das MRA reduziert Zeit und Kosten für die Kommerzialisierung der Produkte auf dem betreffenden Auslandmarkt.

Das Abkommen leistet einen Beitrag zum Abbau wichtiger technischer Handelshemmnisse:
Unterschiedlicher nationaler Produktvorschriften und der Nichtanerkennung ausländischer Konformitätsbewertungen. Zum einen wird durch das Abkommen die Harmonisierung der technischen Vorschriften der Schweiz und der EU bestätigt. Zum anderen kann die doppelte Konformitätsbewertung vermieden werden, indem für den Marktzutritt nur eine Konformitätsbewertung erforderlich ist, welche basierend auf den technischen Vorschriften der Schweiz oder der EU von einer durch das Abkommen anerkannten Konformitätsbewertungsstelle ausgestellt werden kann.

Funktionsweise der gegenseitigen Anerkennung

In den meisten Produktsektoren wird das Recht der Schweiz und der EU als gleichwertig anerkannt. Die Konformitätsbewertungen können für den Binnenmarkt der EU von einer durch das Abkommen anerkannten schweizerischen Konformitätsbewertungsstelle (KBS) nach den technischen Vorschriften der Schweiz durchgeführt werden. Dies gilt für sämtliche Produkte unabhängig ihres Ursprungs. In den zwei Produktsektoren, in
denen die Gesetzgebungen der Schweiz und der EU nicht als gleichwertig anerkannt werden (Gasverbrauchseinrichtungen und Heizkessel sowie Messmittel und Fertigpackungen), müssen die Exportprodukte in die EU nach den technischen Vorschriften der EU hergestellt werden. Die erforderliche Konformitätsbewertung kann jedoch von einer im Rahmen des Abkommens anerkannten schweizerischen Konformitätsbewertungsstelle ausgestellt werden.

Inhalt des Abkommens

Das Abkommen besteht aus einem allgemeinen Teil und zwei Anhängen. Der allgemeine Teil enthält horizontale Bestimmungen, die auf sämtliche vom Abkommen abgedeckte Produktebereiche Anwendung finden. Anhang 1 umfasst sektorielle Kapitel, welche die verschiedenen Produktebereiche abdecken. Anhang 2 regelt die generellen Prinzipien zur Bezeichnung von Konformitätsbewertungsstellen hinsichtlich ihrer Anerkennung im Rahmen des Abkommens. 

Nach Artikel 10 des MRA wird ein aus Vertretern der beiden Vertragsparteien bestehender Gemischter Ausschuss eingesetzt, der für das ordnungsgemässe Funktionieren des Abkommens verantwortlich ist. Der Gemischte Ausschuss kann durch eine gemeinsame Entscheidung die Anhänge des Abkommens aktualisieren.

Anhang 1 des Abkommens (produktspezifische Bestimmungen [Kapitel])

Die einzelnen sektoriellen Kapitel des Anhangs 1 sind systematisch in fünf Abschnitte gegliedert. Sie listen die Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften der Schweiz und der EU in den entsprechenden Produktbereichen auf und präzisieren so den Geltungsbereich des Abkommens. Zudem enthalten sie sektorspezifische Bestimmungen, wie z.B. den Informationsaustausch, die Zusammenarbeit im Bereich Marktüberwachung, usw.

Anerkannte Konformitätsbewertungsstellen

Mit der Bezeichnung wird durch die zuständige Schweizer Behörde bestätigt, dass eine Stelle die relevanten technischen Vorschriften erfüllt, um eine Konformitätsbewertung durchzuführen. Eine Akkreditierung kann eine Voraussetzung für die Bezeichnung (und die Anerkennung) sein.

Liste der anerkannten Konformitätsbewertungsstellen

Konformitätsbewertungsstellen, die von der Schweiz notifiziert und von der EU anerkannt wurden, sind auf folgender Liste (PDF, 617 kB, 20.02.2018) aufgeführt. Eine Liste aller in der EU anerkannten Konformitätsbewertungsstellen (inkl. Schweiz) finden Sie in der New Approach Notified and Designated Organisations Datenbank (NANDO). Für weitere Angaben (inkl. die Liste der Konformitätsbewertungsstellen nach dem «Old Approach») konsultieren Sie bitte die MRA Internet-Seite der EU-Kommission.

CE-Kennzeichnung

Informationen zur CE-Kennzeichnung finden Sie hier.  

Fachkontakt
Letzte Änderung 03.05.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/de/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Technische_Handelshemmnisse/Mutual_Recognition_Agreement_MRA0/MRA_Schweiz_EU.html