MRA Switzerland - UK

The MRA between Switzerland and the United Kingdom is an integral part of the "Trade Agreement between Switzerland and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland" (CH-UK Trade Agreement) (Art. 1 let. d in conjunction with Art. 2 let. b and Annex 3). It covers three product areas: Motor Vehicles, Good Laboratory Practice (GLP) and Good Manufacturing Practice (GMP) Inspection for Medicinal Products and Batch Certification. These three product areas covered by the MRA Switzerland-EU were incorporated into the trade agreement with the United Kingdom, as the standards underlying the technical regulations were developed within the framework of international organisations of which both Switzerland and the United Kingdom are members. These international organisations are: the UN Economic Commission for Europe for motor vehicles, the OECD Principles for Good Laboratory Practices for good laboratory practice and the Pharmaceutical Inspection Cooperation Scheme (PIC/S) for good manufacturing practice (GMP) inspection. In these three product areas, the agreement replicates the rights and obligations under the Switzerland-EU MRA; these product areas function in the same way in relation to the UK as they do in relation to the EU.

The 17 remaining product areas covered by the MRA Switzerland-EU were not taken over into the trade agreement due to the unconfirmed equivalence recognition between the EU and the UK`s technical regulation.

More detailed information on the UK's exit from the EU (Brexit) can be found here.

Specialist staff
Last modification 10.06.2021

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Technische_Handelshemmnisse/Mutual_Recognition_Agreement_MRA0/mra_schweiz-uk.html

MRA Schweiz - UK

Das MRA zwischen der Schweiz und Grossbritannien ist im «Handelsabkommen zwischen der Schweiz und dem Vereinigten Königreich Grossbritannien und Nordirland» (CH-UK Handelsabkommen) enthalten (Art. 1 Bst. d i.V.m Art. 2 Bst. b und Anhang 3). Es deckt drei Produktbereiche ab: Kraftfahrzeuge, Gute Laborpraxis (GLP) und Inspektion der guten Herstellungspraxis (GMP) für Arzneimittel und Zertifizierung der Chargen. Diese drei vom MRA Schweiz-EU abgedeckten Produktebereiche konnten ins Handelsabkommen mit dem Vereinigten Königreich inkorporiert werden, da die den technischen Vorschriften zugrundeliegenden Standards im Rahmen von internationalen Organisationen erarbeitet wurden, bei denen sowohl die Schweiz als auch das Vereinigte Königreich Mitglied sind. Es sind dies die UN Economic Commission for Europe für Kraftfahrzeuge, die OECD Principles for Good Laboratory Practices für Gute Laborpraxis sowie das Pharmaceutical Inspection Cooperation Scheme (PIC/S) für die Inspektion der guten Herstellungspraxis (GMP). In diesen drei Produktebereichen bildet das Abkommen die Rechte und Pflichten gemäss dem MRA Schweiz-EU nach; diese Produktebereiche funktionieren im Verhältnis zum Vereinigten Königreich auf die gleiche Weise wie im Verhältnis zur EU.

Die 17 restlichen vom MRA Schweiz-EU abgedeckten Produktebereiche wurden aufgrund der nicht gesicherten Äquivalenzanerkennung der betroffenen Regulierungen zwischen der EU und dem Vereinigten Königreich nicht ins Handelsabkommen übernommen.

Detailliertere Informationen zum EU-Austritt des Vereinigten Königreichs (Brexit) finden Sie hier.

Fachkontakt
Letzte Änderung 10.06.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/de/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Technische_Handelshemmnisse/Mutual_Recognition_Agreement_MRA0/mra_schweiz-uk.html