Historical development

Historical development of the network of free trade agreements

To a large extent, Switzerland’s network of free trade agreements consists of agreements concluded jointly with its fellow EFTA member states.

In the first phase (beginning in the early 1990s), EFTA members mainly concluded free trade agreements with Central and Eastern European countries, following initial agreements with Turkey and Israel. As well as improving mutual market access, these free trade agreements, which EFTA signed at the same time as similar EU agreements with these countries, also served to support economic reforms in the Central and Eastern European countries in transition. Eight of these free trade agreements were terminated on 1 May 2004, two on 1 January 2007 and one on 1 July 2013 as the corresponding partner countries joined the EU on these dates. Free trade relations between Switzerland and the new EU member states remain in place but are now based on the Swiss-EU free trade agreement of 1972. Currently, EFTA free trade agreements are in force with North Macedonia, Albania, Serbia, Ukraine, Montenegro, Bosnia-Herzegovina and Georgia.

The network of EFTA agreements in the Mediterranean was expanded from the mid-1990s onwards as EFTA members looked to step up their integration in the Euro-Mediterranean economic area. As part of these efforts, Switzerland is also actively involved in the work to modernise the Regional Convention on pan-Euro-Mediterranean preferential rules of origin. By signing these free trade agreements, the EFTA members are also helping to promote Euro-Mediterranean economic cooperation. EFTA has so far concluded free trade agreements with eight Mediterranean partners: Turkey, Israel, Morocco, the Palestinian Authority, Jordan, Lebanon, Tunisia and Egypt. A modernised and expanded treaty was signed with Turkey on 25 June 2018.

In response to the global trend towards concluding regional and, increasingly, supraregional free trade agreements, in the late 1990s the EFTA member states began to include global partners in the focus of their free trade policy as well. Since then, corresponding agreements have been signed with Mexico, Singapore, Chile, South Korea, the SACU countries (Southern African Customs Union: Botswana, Namibia, Lesotho, South Africa and Eswatini), Canada, Colombia, the GCC (Gulf Cooperation Council: Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Kuwait and Oman), Peru, Hong Kong, the Central American countries (Panama and Costa Rica; probably Guatemala) and the Philippines. A free trade agreement was signed with Ecuador on 25 June 2018 and another with Indonesia on 16 December 2018. Negotiations with India, Vietnam and Malaysia are ongoing. In summer 2020, the the negotiations with the Mercosur countries (Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay and Uruguay) were concluded in substance.

At the bilateral level, the Agreement on Free Trade and Economic Partnership between Switzerland and Japan has been in force since September 2009. Switzerland was the first European country to sign a treaty of this kind with Japan. In addition, a bilateral free trade agreement between Switzerland and China came into effect on 1 July 2014. China is the world’s second-largest economy behind the USA and Switzerland’s third most important trade partner after the EU and the USA. Switzerland also has a bilateral FTA with the Faroe Islands.

Furthermore, Switzerland and the other EFTA states are engaged in dialogue with other potential partners including Moldova and Thailand to examine the possibility of establishing free trade relations.

An overview of Switzerland’s current network of free trade agreements as well as negotiations that are either under way or being prepared can be found under the heading Free trade partner of Switzerland.

 

Specialist staff
Last modification 10.09.2020

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Freihandelsabkommen/historische_entwicklung.html

Développement du réseau d'accords de libre-échange

Développement du réseau d'accords de libre-échange

Le réseau d’accords de libre-échange de la Suisse est en grande partie constitué par des accords conclus sous l’égide de l’AELE.
Dans une première étape, à savoir au début des années 90 – après la signature des premiers accords avec la Turquie et Israël – les États de l’AELE ont mis l’accent sur la conclusion d’accords de libre-échange avec les pays d’Europe centrale et orientale. Ces accords conclus par les pays de l’AELE parallèlement à ceux conclus par l’UE visaient non seulement à améliorer l’accès réciproque aux marchés, mais aussi à consolider les réformes économiques des pays en transition d’Europe centrale et orientale. Entre-temps, lors de l’adhésion des partenaires respectifs à l’UE, huit accords ont pris fin au 1er mai 2004, deux au 1er janvier 2007 et un au 1er juillet 2013. Les relations de libre-échange entre la Suisse et ces nouveaux pays membres de l’UE sont cependant maintenues sur la base de l’accord de libre-échange de 1972 entre la Suisse et l’UE. Actuellement, des accords de libre-échange de l’AELE sont en vigueur avec la Macédoine, l’Albanie, la Serbie, l’Ukraine, le Monténégro, la Bosnie et Herzégovine et la Géorgie.

Dès le milieu des années 90, le réseau d’accords de l’AELE a été progressivement étendu au bassin méditerranéen. L’objectif des pays de l’AELE est de poursuivre leur intégration dans l’espace économique euro-méditerranéen. La Suisse participe dans ce cadre activement aux travaux d’actualisation de la Convention régionale sur les règles d’origine préférentielles paneuroméditerranéennes. Les pays de l’AELE apportent ainsi par la même occasion leur contribution à la promotion de la coopération économique euro-méditerranéenne. À ce jour, ils ont conclu huit accords de libre-échange avec des partenaires du bassin méditerranéen, à savoir la Turquie, Israël, le Maroc, l’Autorité palestinienne, la Jordanie, le Liban, la Tunisie et l’Égypte. Un accord révisé et étendu a été signé le 25 juin 2018 avec la Turquie.

Confrontés à l’augmentation des accords régionaux et suprarégionaux de libre-échange dans le monde, les pays de l’AELE ont commencé, dès la fin des années 90, à étendre leur politique de libre-échange à des partenaires potentiels du monde entier. Des accords de libre-échange sont ainsi en vigueur avec le Mexique, Singapour, le Chili, la République de Corée, les pays de l’Union douanière de l’Afrique australe (SACU : Afrique du Sud, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibie), le Canada, la Colombie, les pays du Conseil de coopération du Golfe (CCG : Arabie saoudite, Bahreïn, Émirats arabes unis, Koweït, Qatar et Oman), le Pérou, Hong Kong, les États d’Amérique centrale (Panama, Costa Rica et éventuellement Guatemala) et les Philippines. Un accord de libre-échange a été signé avec l’Équateur le 25 juin 2018, et un autre avec l’Indonésie le 16 décembre 2018. Des négociations sont en cours avec l’Inde, le Vietnam et la Malaisie. Les négociations avec les États du Mercosur (Argentine, Brésil, Paraguay, Uruguay) ont été conclues durant l'été 2019.

Sur le plan bilatéral, l’accord de libre-échange et de partenariat économique entre la Suisse et le Japon est en vigueur depuis septembre 2009. La Suisse a été le premier pays européen à conclure un tel accord avec le Japon. Également sur un plan bilatéral, l’accord de libre-échange entre la Suisse et la Chine est entré en vigueur le 1er juillet 2014. La Chine est, après les États-Unis, la deuxième économie mondiale et, après l’UE et les États-Unis, le troisième partenaire commercial de la Suisse. La Suisse a également conclu un accord de libre-échange bilatéral avec les îles Féroé.

La Suisse et les pays de l’AELE entretiennent des contacts avec d’autres partenaires potentiels, comme la République de Moldova ou la Thaïlande, afin d’examiner les possibilités d’établir des relations de libre-échange.

Un aperçu actuel du réseau d’accords de libre-échange de la Suisse et des négociations en cours ou en préparation est disponible sous la rubrique « Accords de libre-échange » Partenairers de libre-échange de la Suisse

Contact spécialisé
Dernière modification 10.09.2020

Début de la page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Freihandelsabkommen/historische_entwicklung.html