International Investment Rules Relevant to Switzerland

WTO

International rules on investment have been established multilaterally within the framework of the World Trade Organization (WTO) through the General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS) and the Agreement on Trade-Related Investment Measures (TRIMS). Attempts at the Doha Round to broaden the scope of international investment rules to include non-services sectors failed in 2004 when capital exporting and importing countries were unable to reconcile their different expectations.

OECD

As a multilateral regulatory framework, the OECD's Code of Liberalisation of Capital Movements is also important for Switzerland. Under this code, Switzerland undertakes to refrain from discriminatory practices against foreign investments made by investors from fellow OECD member countries, regardless of the economic sector involved. At the same time, Swiss investors may also benefit from the principle of non-discrimination for their investments in other OECD member countries. The OECD's Code of Liberalisation of Capital Movements and its Code of Liberalisation of Current Invisible Operations allow for certain reservations that have to be spelled out in lists. Attempts to reach a comprehensive Multilateral Agreement on Investment (MAI), which would have liberalised and afforded protection to international investments and introduced legally binding dispute settlement mechanisms, failed in 1998 after several years of negotiations.

Multilateral Investment Rules applying to specific sectors

As far as multilateral investment rules applying to specific sectors are concerned, Switzerland adheres to the Energy Charter Treaty (ECT), which affords investment protection for non-commercial risks associated with investments in the energy sector. The ECT also includes an investor-state dispute settlement mechanism. However, an initially planned schedule to this treaty that would have covered the liberalisation of investments in the energy sector did not materialise. The ECT is the first multilateral investment treaty that includes a dispute settlement mechanism. In addition to Switzerland, the signatory countries to the ECT include all EU member states, all other Balkan countries as well as all members of the Commonwealth of Independent States CIS (with the exception of Russia) and Japan.

Bilateral Investment Promotion and Protection Agreements (BITs)

Due to the absence of a multilateral framework to protect international investments, Switzerland negotiates on bilateral tracks international law disciplines on the protection of investments in the form of BITS. There are over 3,000 such agreements worldwide, a complex network which explains the interest in a multilateral solution. Additional information regarding the bilateral investment treaties of other countries can be found on the UNCTAD website. Switzerland also negotiates free trade agreements through the European Free Trade Association (EFTA), some of which contain provisions on investment.

Specialist staff
Last modification 20.04.2016

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Internationale_Investitionen/Auslandsinvestitionen/Fuer_die_Schweiz_relevante_internationale_Investitionsregeln.html

Les règles relatives aux investissements internationaux pertinentes pour la Suisse

OMC

La législation de l'OMC contient deux accords multilatéraux prévoyant des règles relatives aux investissements: l'Accord général sur le commerce des services (AGCS) et l'Accord sur les mesures concernant les investissements et liées au commerce (TRIMS). La tentative faite dans le cadre du cycle de Doha, qui visait à étendre aux secteurs autres que les services les conditions d'investissement garanties par le droit international, a échoué en 2004 du fait d’attentes divergentes des Etats exportateurs de capitaux, d'une part, et des Etats importateurs de capitaux, d'autre part.

OCDE

La Suisse doit également respecter les règles plurilatérales relatives aux investissements conclues dans le cadre de l'OCDE (Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques) concernant la libéralisation des investissements. Elle s'engage à ne pas pratiquer de discrimination envers les investissements des autres pays de l'OCDE sur son territoire, quel que soit le secteur économique concerné. Inversement, les investisseurs suisses bénéficient également du principe de non-discrimination dans les Etats membres de l'OCDE. Les codes de l'OCDE sur la libération des mouvements de capitaux et des opérations invisibles courantes prévoient certaines exceptions, qui doivent être dûment justifiées. La conclusion d'un accord multilatéral sur l'investissement (AMI) qui aurait réglé la libéralisation et la protection des investissements internationaux et inclus des mécanismes de règlement des différends juridiquement contraignants a échoué en 1998, après plusieurs années de négociations.

Règles plurilatérales et sectorielles en matière d'investissement

Pour la Suisse, des règles plurilatérales et sectorielles en matière d'investissement s'appliquent dans le domaine de l'énergie en vertu du Traité sur la Charte de l'énergie. Celui-ci protège les investissements réalisés contre les risques non commerciaux et prévoit un mécanisme de règlement des différends entre un investisseur et un Etat. Un accord complémentaire portant sur la libéralisation des investissements dans le domaine de l'énergie, initialement prévu, n'a pas vu le jour. Le Traité sur la Charte de l'énergie est le tout premier accord multilatéral en matière d'investissement à prévoir des procédures de règlement des différends. Outre la Suisse, les parties contractantes sont: des Etats membres de l'UE, tous les autres Etats des Balkans, les Etats membres de la Communauté des Etats indépendants (CEI), à l'exception de la Russie, et le Japon.

Accords de protection des investissements (API)

A défaut de régime mondial de protection des investissements, la Suisse négocie au niveau bilatéral des règles de protection des investissements relevant du droit international, et ce sous forme d'accords bilatéraux de protection des investissements. A l'échelle mondiale, il existe plus de 3000 accords de ce type, une complexité juridique qui explique bien l'intérêt pour une solution multilatérale. De plus amples informations concernant les API sont disponibles sur le site de la CNUCED. La Suisse négocie en outre des accords de libre-échange dans le cadre de l'AELE, dont certains contiennent des dispositions en matière d'investissements.

Contact spécialisé
Dernière modification 20.04.2016

Début de la page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Internationale_Investitionen/Auslandsinvestitionen/Fuer_die_Schweiz_relevante_internationale_Investitionsregeln.html