Economic Importance of Foreign Investment for Switzerland

As in most other countries, international investments are a key factor for economic growth and prosperity in Switzerland. Swiss-based companies have traditionally exported not just industrial goods and services but also capital, particularly in the form of direct investment. At the same time, Switzerland has successfully positioned itself as a location for capital investment from abroad.

According to the Swiss National Bank, the stock of direct investment by Swiss companies in production, distribution and research facilities abroad stood at CHF 1’000 billion. In addition to large-sized enterprises, there are also several thousand small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) that have contributed. Combined, they employ close to two million people outside of Switzerland. In comparison, foreign direct investment (FDI) in Switzerland currently stands at CHF 750 billion, which corresponds to roughly 450'000 jobs. Compared to other countries, Switzerland maintains relatively high levels of foreign direct investment (FDI). This can be seen in the ratio between the level of Swiss foreign direct investment (FDI) and gross domestic product (GDP).  The importance of foreign investment is also noticeable in the historic perspective, as the capital through Swiss investments abroad has nearly tripled since 2000.

Specialist staff
Last modification 20.04.2016

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Internationale_Investitionen/Auslandsinvestitionen/Volkswirtschaftliche_Bedeutung_Auslandinvestitionen_Schweiz.html

Importance des investissements étrangers pour l'économie suisse

Pour la Suisse comme pour la plupart des économies, les investissements internationaux constituent l'un des principaux facteurs participant à la croissance économique et à la prospérité. La Suisse n'exporte pas seulement des produits industriels et des services; depuis longtemps, des entreprises sises en Suisse exportent un important volume de capitaux, en particulier sous forme d'investissements directs. Mais la Suisse attire également beaucoup de capitaux étrangers.

Selon la Banque nationale suisse (BNS), la valeur statistique des investissements directs sous forme de sites de production, de distribution et de recherche détenus par des acteurs suisses à l'étrangers’élève à plus de 1000 milliards de francs. Ces acteurs sont des grandes sociétés, mais aussi plusieurs milliers de petites et moyennes entreprises (PME). Elles emploient au total près de 2 millions de personnes à l'étranger. A l'inverse, les investissements directs étrangers en Suisse s’élèvent à environ 750 milliards de francs, ce qui correspond à environ 450 000 emplois. Par rapport à d'autres pays, la Suisse effectue des investissements directs relativement importants à l'étranger. Ce constat ressort du rapport entre les investissements directs suisses à l'étranger et le produit intérieur brut (PIB).

Sur le plan historique aussi, l'importance des investissements étrangers pour l'économie suisse est manifeste, puisque, depuis l'an 2000, le volume des capitaux suisses investis à l'étranger a triplé.

Contact spécialisé
Dernière modification 20.04.2016

Début de la page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Internationale_Investitionen/Auslandsinvestitionen/Volkswirtschaftliche_Bedeutung_Auslandinvestitionen_Schweiz.html