EU/EFTA

Swiss-EU relations in the field of trade in services

Switzerland and the European Union (EU) have very close ties in trade in services. Switzerland is the EU's second largest trading partner in services, behind the USA and ahead of China. For Switzerland, the EU is the most important trading partner for services.

Trade relations between Switzerland and the EU in services are currently covered in international treaties by the GATS, the Agreement concerning direct insurance and the Bilateral Agreements I (free movement of persons, air transport and land transport).

The Convention establishing the European Free Trade Association (EFTA)

Switzerland has a preferential relationship in the services sector with its three EFTA partners Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. This preferential relationship is established within the framework of the EFTA Convention, the consolidated version of which, in accordance with the Vaduz Agreement of 21 June 2001, entered into force on 1 June 2002.

Article 29 of the Convention provides for the prohibition of any restriction on the right to supply services by a service supplier from an EFTA country within the territory of another EFTA country. Exemptions to this principle are set out in Annexes L to O of the Convention. Article 20 and its Annex K deal more specifically with the supply of services by a natural person.

Last modification 01.07.2020

Top of page

Contact

State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO
Services
Holzikofenweg 36
CH-3003 Bern

Tel. +41 58 464 08 67
E-Mail

Print contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/handel_mit_dienstleistungen/eu_efta.html

UE/AELE

Relations Suisse-Union européenne concernant le commerce des services

Les liens entre la Suisse et l’Union Européenne (UE) concernant le commerce des services sont très étroits. La Suisse est pour l’UE le deuxième partenaire commercial dans le domaine des services, derrière les USA et devant la Chine. Pour la Suisse, l’UE est le partenaire commercial le plus important dans ce domaine.

Les relations commerciales entre la Suisse et l’UE concernant les services sont actuellement couvertes au niveau de traités internationaux par l’AGCS, l’Accord concernant l’assurance directe et les Accords bilatéraux I (libre circulation des personnes, transport aérien et transports terrestres).

La Convention instituant l’Association européenne de libre-échange (AELE)

La Suisse entretient une relation préférentielle dans le secteur des services avec ses trois partenaires de l’AELE que sont l’Islande, le Liechtenstein et la Norvège. Cette relation préférentielle est établie dans le cadre de la Convention AELE, dont la version consolidée selon l’Accord de Vaduz du 21 juin 2001 est entrée en vigueur le 1er juin 2002.

L’Article 29 de la Convention prévoit l’interdiction de toute restriction au droit de fournir des services par un prestataire d’un pays de l’AELE à l’intérieur du territoire d’un autre pays de l’AELE. Des exemptions à ce principe sont énoncées dans les Annexes L à O de la Convention. L’Article 20 et son Annexe K traitent plus spécifiquement de la prestation de services par une personne physique.

Dernière modification 01.07.2020

Début de la page

Contact

Secrétariat d'Etat à l'économie SECO
Services
Holzikofenweg 36
CH-3003 Bern

Tel. +41 58 464 08 67
E-Mail

 

Imprimer le contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/handel_mit_dienstleistungen/eu_efta.html