Free Trade Agreements

Switzerland maintains preferential relations in the field of trade in services through 18 free trade agreements (FTAs).

These are the FTAs concluded within the framework of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) with the following partners (in alphabetical order): Central American States (Costa Rica, Guatemala and Panama), Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Georgia, Gulf Cooperation Council (United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Qatar and Kuwait), Hong Kong, Indonesia, Mexico, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Turkey, Ukraine and to a certain extent Canada and Peru. In addition, Switzerland has concluded an FTA with China and one with Japan outside the framework of EFTA.

Weltkarte für Dienstleistungen

Red: EFTA partner countries of Switzerland
Green: Countries, with which Switzerland maintains preferential relationships in the services domain

Switzerland's primary objective in these FTAs is to obtain more favourable treatment than the one granted under the WTO's General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS) and to eliminate potential discrimination for its exporters in comparison to competing exporters. Switzerland thus aims to guarantee enhanced legal certainty and better market access for all its exporters.

The FTAs, in principle, take over the provisions of the GATS and the related schedules of commitments as a basis for improvements. In the context of FTA negotiations, Switzerland generally proposes a standard text for a separate chapter on trade in services. This chapter is supplemented by annexes containing sectoral (e. g. financial services) or subject-specific (e. g. movement of natural persons) rules that are defined on a case-by-case basis according to the mutual commercial interests of the Parties.

Like under the GATS, specific market access commitments are generally inscribed in positive lists ("schedules of commitments"). The agreements with Hong Kong and Japan are the exception. Concessions are taken in the form of negative lists ("lists of reservations").

Switzerland is negotiating an FTA containing trade in services provisions within the framework of EFTA with the following partners: India, Malaysia, MERCOSUR (Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, Uruguay), Thailand, Vietnam, Belarus-Kazakhstan-Russia Customs Union, and Chile (financial services).

Last modification 01.07.2020

Top of page

Contact

State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO
Services
Holzikofenweg 36
CH-3003 Bern

Tel. +41 58 464 08 67
E-Mail

Print contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/handel_mit_dienstleistungen/freihandelsabkommen.html

Accords de libre-échange

La Suisse entretient des relations préférentielles dans le domaine du commerce des services au moyen de 18 accords de libre-échange (ALE).

Il s’agit des ALE conclus dans le cadre de l’Association européenne de libre-échange (AELE) avec les partenaires (par ordre alphabétique) suivants : Etats d'Amérique centrale (Costa Rica, Guatemala et Panama), Chili, Colombie, Conseil de coopération du Golfe (Emirats arabes unis, Bahreïn, Arabie saoudite, Oman, Qatar et Koweït), Corée du Sud, Equateur, Géorgie, Hong Kong, Indonésie, Mexique, Philippines, Singapour, Turquie et Ukraine et dans une mesure partielle Canada et Pérou. De plus, la Suisse a conclu, hors du cadre de l’AELE, un ALE avec la Chine et avec le Japon.

Weltkarte für Dienstleistungen

En rouge: pays partenaires de l'AELE
En vert: pays ave lesquels la Suisse entretient des relations préfeérentielles dans le secteur des services

L’objectif principal de la Suisse dans ces ALE est d’obtenir un traitement plus avantageux que celui accordé en vertu de l’Accord général sur le commerce des services (AGCS) de l’OMC et d’éliminer des discriminations potentielles pour ses exportateurs de services par rapport à des exportateurs concurrents. La Suisse vise ainsi à garantir pour l’ensemble de ses exportateurs une sécurité juridique accrue et un meilleur accès aux marchés.

Les ALE reprennent en principe comme base les dispositions de l’AGCS ainsi que les listes d’engagements y relatives en y apportant des améliorations. Dans le cadre des négociations d’un ALE, la Suisse propose en général un texte standard pour un chapitre à part entière sur le commerce des services. Ce chapitre est complété par des annexes contenant des règles sectorielles (par exemple services financiers) ou thématiques (par exemple mouvement de personnes physiques) qui sont définies au cas par cas selon les intérêts commerciaux mutuels des.

A l’instar de l’AGCS, les engagements spécifiques relatifs à l’accès aux marchés sont généralement consignés dans des listes positives (« listes d’engagements »). Les accords avec Hong Konget le Japon font figure d’exception. Les concessions sont fixées sous forme de listes négatives (« listes de réserves »).

La Suisse entretient des négociations concernant un ALE incluant le commerce des services, dans le cadre de l’AELE, avec les partenaires suivants : Inde, Malaisie, MERCOSUR (Argentine, Brésil, Paraguay, Uruguay), Thaïlande, Vietnam, Union douanière Bélarus-Kazakhstan-Russie, et Chili (services financiers).

Dernière modification 01.07.2020

Début de la page

Contact

Secrétariat d'Etat à l'économie SECO
Services
Holzikofenweg 36
CH-3003 Bern

Tel. +41 58 464 08 67
E-Mail

 

Imprimer le contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/handel_mit_dienstleistungen/freihandelsabkommen.html