Preferential origin

Preferential bilateral tariffs are agreed contractually under free trade agreements (FTA). They apply to products that are manufactured entirely in the territory of the state party, or sufficiently worked or processed there to fall within the scope of the agreement. In addition, under the Generalized System of Preferences (GSP) Switzerland unilaterally applies lower duties to products from states it recognises as developing countries.

The origin criteria that these products must fulfil to qualify for preferential tariffs are set out in the origin protocol to the FTA in question or in the Ordinance on Rules of Origin for Preferential Tariffs for Developing Countries (SR 946.39).

Cumulation practice in relation to origin

Cumulation means adding together all of the value creation – such as the production of primary materials or processing at individual stages of manufacture – that is generated in different free trade partner countries. It is used to establish whether a good fulfils the criteria for 'originating product' status. Product origin can be cumulated in a number of ways: (i) bilateral cumulation between two parties to a single FTA; (ii) diagonal cumulation between three or more parties to FTAs that apply the same rules of origin; (iii) extended cumulation between three or more partners to FTAs with different rules of origin; and (iv) full cumulation, in which the different stages of manufacture in different parts of a free trade zone are added together.

Regional Convention on Pan-Euro-Mediterranean Preferential Rules of Origin (PEM Convention)

The Regional Convention of 15 June 2011 on Pan-Euro-Mediterranean Preferential Rules of Origin (the 'PEM Convention'; SR 0.946.31) came into force in Switzerland on 1 January 2012. The object of the Convention is to determine standard rules of origin between PEM partner countries to ease trade and to integrate supply chains within the zone without changing the substance of the FTAs that already exist in the zone. The Convention creates a diagonal cumulation zone.

Rules of origin under the revised PEM Convention

By adopting the PEM Convention in 2011, partner countries undertook to revise the old rules from the 1970s that no longer correspond to today's manufacturing chains. It has not yet been possible to achieve the unanimity that is required to adopt the revised version of the Convention, however. The overwhelming majority of states parties has therefore decided to apply the revised rules bilaterally as a transitional solution so that their business sectors can benefit from the revision nonetheless. The revised rules have been applied to trade with the EU since 12 August 2021. During the transitional period, exporting companies can choose to apply either the rules of the current Convention or the revised rules of origin. The revised rules simplify the legal framework and certification of origin, permit more flexible supply chains, and thus ensure a better fit between the rules of origin and actual production chains in the PEM zone.

Specialist staff
Last modification 22.08.2022

Top of page

Contact

State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO
International Movement of Goods
Holzikofenweg 36
3003 Bern

Tel. +41 (0)58 464 08 74

E-Mail

Print contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/warenhandel/praeferenzieller_ursprung.html

Origine préférentielle

Dans le cadre des accords de libre-échange (ALE), des préférences tarifaires contractuelles bilatérales sont octroyées pour les produits entièrement obtenus ou suffisamment ouvragés dans le territoire de l’État contractant et couverts par l’accord en question. Parallèlement, le système généralisé des préférences (SGP) prévoit des préférences tarifaires que la Suisse accorde de manière autonome aux produits de pays auxquels elle reconnaît le statut de pays en développement.

Les critères d’origine que les produits doivent remplir pour bénéficier de préférences tarifaires sont définis par le Protocole sur l’origine de l’ALE concerné, respectivement par l’ordonnance relative aux règles d’origine régissant l’octroi de préférences tarifaires aux pays en développement (RS 946.39).

Cumul en matière d’origine

Le cumul consiste à additionner la valeur ajoutée des intrants ou celle issue des étapes de production d’un produit effectuées sur le territoire de différents partenaires de libre-échange, afin de remplir les critères nécessaires à l’obtention du statut de produit originaire. Il existe différents types de cumul: (i) bilatéral, entre deux partenaires d’un ALE, (ii) diagonal, entre trois, ou plus, partenaires d’ALE qui contiennent des règles d’origine identiques, (iii) élargi, entre trois, ou plus, partenaires d’ALE qui contiennent des règles d’origine différentes, (iv) total ou intégral, qui permet de regrouper diverses étapes de fabrication réalisées dans différents pays d’une zone de libre-échange.

Convention régionale sur les règles d’origine préférentielles paneuroméditerranéennes (Convention PEM)

La Convention régionale sur les règles d’origine préférentielles paneuroméditerranéennes du 15 juin 2011 («Convention PEM»; RS 0.946.31) est entrée en vigueur en Suisse le 1er janvier 2012. Elle vise à fixer des règles d’origine communes aux pays partenaires de la convention PEM afin de faciliter les échanges commerciaux et d’intégrer les chaînes d’approvisionnement au sein de cette zone sans avoir à modifier en substance les ALE qui y sont en vigueur. Elle crée une zone de cumul diagonal.

Règles d’origine de la Convention PEM révisée

En adoptant la Convention PEM en 2011, les pays partenaires se sont engagés à adapter les règles datant des années 1970, qui ne correspondent plus aux réalités des chaînes de production actuelles. La révision de la Convention, qui requiert l’unanimité des pays partenaires, n’a toutefois pas encore pu être approuvée. La grande majorité des parties à la Convention ont par conséquent décidé d’appliquer provisoirement et au niveau bilatéral les règles révisées afin que leur économie puisse tout de même profiter des avantages apportés par la révision. Ces nouvelles règles sont appliquées dans les échanges avec l’UE depuis le 12 août 2021. Durant la période transitoire, les entreprises exportatrices peuvent utiliser au choix les règles de la convention actuelle ou les règles révisées. Ces dernières simplifient le cadre juridique et la certification de l’origine, permettent davantage de souplesse dans les chaînes d’approvisionnement et donc une meilleure adéquation entre les règles d’origine et les chaînes de production de la zone PEM.

Contact spécialisé
Dernière modification 17.08.2022

Début de la page

Contact

Secrétariat d'Etat à l'économie SECO
Secteur circulation internationale des marchandises
Holzikofenweg 36
3003 Berne

Tél. +41 (0)58 464 08 74

Courriel

Imprimer le contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/warenhandel/praeferenzieller_ursprung.html