Preferential origin

Preferential bilateral tariffs are agreed contractually under free trade agreements (FTA). They apply to products that are manufactured entirely in the territory of the state party, or sufficiently worked or processed there to fall within the scope of the agreement. In addition, under the Generalized System of Preferences (GSP) Switzerland unilaterally applies lower duties to products from states it recognises as developing countries.

The origin criteria that these products must fulfil to qualify for preferential tariffs are set out in the origin protocol to the FTA in question or in the Ordinance on Rules of Origin for Preferential Tariffs for Developing Countries (SR 946.39).

Cumulation practice in relation to origin

Cumulation means adding together all of the value creation – such as the production of primary materials or processing at individual stages of manufacture – that is generated in different free trade partner countries. It is used to establish whether a good fulfils the criteria for 'originating product' status. Product origin can be cumulated in a number of ways: (i) bilateral cumulation between two parties to a single FTA; (ii) diagonal cumulation between three or more parties to FTAs that apply the same rules of origin; (iii) extended cumulation between three or more partners to FTAs with different rules of origin; and (iv) full cumulation, in which the different stages of manufacture in different parts of a free trade zone are added together.

Regional Convention on Pan-Euro-Mediterranean Preferential Rules of Origin (PEM Convention)

The Regional Convention of 15 June 2011 on Pan-Euro-Mediterranean Preferential Rules of Origin (the 'PEM Convention'; SR 0.946.31) came into force in Switzerland on 1 January 2012. The object of the Convention is to determine standard rules of origin between PEM partner countries to ease trade and to integrate supply chains within the zone without changing the substance of the FTAs that already exist in the zone. The Convention creates a diagonal cumulation zone.

Rules of origin under the revised PEM Convention

By adopting the PEM Convention in 2011, partner countries undertook to revise the old rules from the 1970s that no longer correspond to today's manufacturing chains. It has not yet been possible to achieve the unanimity that is required to adopt the revised version of the Convention, however. The overwhelming majority of states parties has therefore decided to apply the revised rules bilaterally as a transitional solution so that their business sectors can benefit from the revision nonetheless. The revised rules have been applied to trade with the EU since 12 August 2021. During the transitional period, exporting companies can choose to apply either the rules of the current Convention or the revised rules of origin. The revised rules simplify the legal framework and certification of origin, permit more flexible supply chains, and thus ensure a better fit between the rules of origin and actual production chains in the PEM zone.

Specialist staff
Last modification 22.08.2022

Top of page

Contact

State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO
International Movement of Goods
Holzikofenweg 36
3003 Bern

Tel. +41 (0)58 464 08 74

E-Mail

Print contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/warenhandel/praeferenzieller_ursprung.html

Präferenzieller Ursprung

Im Rahmen der Freihandelsabkommen (FHA) werden bilaterale vertragliche Zollpräferenzen für Produkte gewährt, welche vollständig im Gebiet des Vertragsstaats hergestellt oder ausreichend dort verarbeitet werden und die unter das betreffende Abkommen fallen. Daneben gelten im Rahmen des Allgemeinen Präferenzsystems (APS) autonome Zollpräferenzen für Produkte aus Ländern, die die Schweiz als Entwicklungsländer anerkennt.

Die Ursprungskriterien, welche die Produkte erfüllen müssen, um Anrecht auf Zollpräferenzen zu haben, sind im Ursprungsprotokoll des jeweiligen FHA respektive in der Verordnung über die Ursprungsregeln für Zollpräferenzen zugunsten der Entwicklungsländer (SR 946.39) festgelegt.

Kumulation im Ursprungsbereich

Bei der Kumulation wird die Wertschöpfung (Produktion von Vormaterialien oder Verarbeitung in Produktionsschritten), die in verschiedenen Freihandelspartnerländern stattfindet, addiert, um die Kriterien für den Erhalt des Status als Ursprungserzeugnis zu erfüllen. Es sind verschiedene Arten von Kumulationen möglich: (i) die bilaterale Kumulation zwischen zwei Partnern eines FHA; (ii) die diagonale Kumulation zwischen drei oder mehr Partnern von FHA mit gleichen Ursprungsregeln; (iii) die erweiterte Kumulation zwischen drei oder mehr Partnern von FHA mit unterschiedlichen Ursprungsregeln; und (iv) die Vollkumulation, bei der verschiedene Fabrikationsschritte, die in verschiedenen Teilen einer Freihandelszone erfolgen, zusammengefasst werden.

Regionales Übereinkommen über Pan-Europa-Mittelmeer-Präferenzursprungsregeln (PEM-Übereinkommen)

Das Regionale Übereinkommen vom 15. Juni 2011 über Pan-Europa-Mittelmeer-Präferenzursprungsregeln («PEM-Übereinkommen»; SR 0.946.31) ist in der Schweiz am 1. Januar 2012 in Kraft getreten. Das Abkommen zielt darauf ab, gemeinsame Ursprungsregeln zwischen den PEM-Partnerländern festzulegen, um den Handel zu erleichtern und die Lieferketten innerhalb dieser Zone zu integrieren, ohne die bestehenden FHA in der Zone in der Substanz zu verändern. Das Übereinkommen schafft eine diagonale Kumulationszone.

Ursprungsregeln revidiertes PEM-Übereinkommen

Die Partnerländer haben sich durch die Annahme des PEM-Übereinkommens im Jahr 2011 dazu verpflichtet, die Regeln zu überarbeiten, welche aus den 1970er-Jahren stammen und nicht mehr den heutigen Produktionsketten entsprechen. Jedoch konnte die Revision des Übereinkommens, für welche die Einstimmigkeit aller Partnerländer erforderlich ist, noch nicht verabschiedet werden. Die überwiegende Mehrheit der Vertragsparteien des Übereinkommens haben daraufhin beschlossen, die Regeln des revidierten Übereinkommens bilateral und übergangsweise anzuwenden, um damit ihrer Wirtschaft trotzdem zu ermöglichen, von den Vorteilen dieser Revision zu profitieren. Die revidierten Regeln werden seit dem 12. August 2021 mit der EU angewendet. Während der Übergangsperiode können die Exportunternehmen entweder die Regeln des heutigen Übereinkommens oder die revidierten Regeln anwenden. Die revidierten Regeln vereinfachen den Rechtsrahmen und die Ursprungszertifizierung, erlauben flexiblere Lieferketten und sorgen so für eine bessere Abstimmung zwischen den Ursprungsregeln und den Produktionsketten in der PEM-Zone.

Fachkontakt
Letzte Änderung 17.08.2022

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft SECO
Ressort Internationaler Warenverkehr
Holzikofenweg 36
3003 Bern

Tel. +41 (0)58 464 08 74

E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/de/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/warenhandel/praeferenzieller_ursprung.html