Steel and Aluminum Imports in the U.S.

Import tariffs imposed on certain steel and aluminium products from 23 March 2018

On 8 March 2018 the USA announced that, for national security reasons, it was introducing new import tariffs of 25% on certain steel products and of 10% on certain aluminium products. These tariffs apply to imports from all partner countries (including Switzerland), with the exception of those from Canada, Mexico, Argentina, Australia, Brazil and South Korea. However, steel and aluminium imports from Argentina are subject to quotas, as are steel imports from Brazil and South Korea.

Derivatives no longer subject to additional duty

On 24 January 2020 the USA announced that, for national security reasons, it would impose additional tariffs of 25% on certain derivative steel products and 10% on certain derivative aluminium products with effect from 8 February 2020. The US Court of International Trade declared these additional tariffs invalid on 5 April 2021.

Product-specific exemption requests

For certain steel and aluminium products it is possible to apply for exemptions from the tariffs described above. The US Department of Commerce is responsible for examining these requests. Forms and detailed information on this process can be found at https://www.commerce.gov/232.

The portal for requests for product exclusions is at Section 232 Exclusions. On this page you will also find a user guide and frequently asked questions about the exclusion procedure. Please refer also to additional information at Steel: Information on the Exclusion Process.

User Guide

FAQ

How should be proceeded?

General remarks:

  • Exclusion requests for specific products must be submitted by subsidiaries or official representatives in the USA or by US customers (“only individuals or organizations using steel in business activities (e.g. construction, manufacturing or supplying steel product to users) in the United States”).
  • Requests are examined from a national security perspective to determine whether a product is manufactured in the USA to a satisfactory quality and in a sufficient and reasonably available quantity.

Requests submitted on or after 13 June 2019:

Contact with the US authorities:

  • For questions about the exclusion process, please contact steel232@bis.doc.gov; tel. +(1) 202-482-5642 for questions about steel.
  • If you have any problems uploading the forms to the Section 232 Exclusions portal, please contact the Portal Support Help Desk on +(1) 202-482-3203 or 232ExclusionsPortal@bis.doc.gov.

Publication and entry into force of approved exclusions

  • Requests submitted on or after 13 June 2019: the status of requests can be checked directly on the website of the US Department of Commerce, at https://www.commerce.gov/232. For requests submitted up to 12 June 2019, please consult www.regulations.gov (reference number BIS-2018-0006 or BIS-2018-0002).
  • Exclusion requests are usually approved for one product only, and are restricted to the company or organisation that submitted the request. Consequently, exclusions do not apply to all customers or representations horizontally.
  • The US Department of Commerce generally decisions on exclusion requests within 90 days. If approved, exclusions enter into force five working days after the decision is published on www.regulations.gov. They are valid for one year in principle. Renewals must be requested using the procedure described above.
  • 'General approved exclusions' were introduced on 14 December 2020. They may be used by any importing body, but apply only if no complaints have previously been made about specific steel and aluminium articles.

List of steel and aluminium products subject to additonal US duty

Aluminium Import Monitoring and Analysis System

On 28 June 2021 the US Department of Commerce introduced an automatic import licensing system so that it can monitor import trends in the aluminium sector. Further information, including the list of products that are subject to the Aluminium Import Monitoring and Analysis System, can be found here:

Aluminium Import Monitoring and Analysis System: updates on aluminium import licensing

Product list: aluminium products HTS codes

WTO dispute settlement process – measures imposed by the USA on certain steel and aluminium products

On 9 July 2018, Switzerland launched WTO dispute settlement proceedings against import restrictions imposed by the USA on certain steel and aluminium products. Switzerland considers that these measures are contrary to WTO law. Since the consultations, which represent the first stage of WTO dispute settlement proceedings, were unable to find a mutually acceptable solution, Switzerland requested that a panel be established. The panel was convened on 4 December 2018 and proceedings are ongoing. Five further WTO dispute settlement proceedings against the same US measures are also still in progress. These were initiated by China, India, Norway, Russia and Turkey. In view of the complexity of this legal dispute and the delays caused by the global COVID-19 pandemic, the panel now expects to submit its final report to the parties not earlier than the first half of 2022.

Specialist staff
Last modification 01.11.2022

Top of page

Contact

State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO
World Trade
Holzikofenweg 36
3003 Berne

E-Mail

Print contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/warenhandel/stahl_aluminium_einfuhren_usa.html

Stahl- und Aluminium-Einfuhren in die USA

Einführung von Einfuhrzöllen auf gewissen Stahl- und Aluminiumprodukten seit dem 23. März 2018

Am 8. März 2018 kündigten die USA an, aus Gründen der nationalen Sicherheit neue Einfuhrzölle von 25 % für bestimmte Stahlprodukte und 10 % für bestimmte Aluminiumprodukte einzuführen. Diese Zölle gelten für alle Einfuhren mit Ausnahme der Einfuhren aus Kanada, Mexiko, Australien, Argentinien, Brasilien und Südkorea. Die Einfuhren von Stahl und Aluminium aus Argentinien unterliegen jedoch Quoten, ebenso wie die Einfuhren von Stahl aus Brasilien und Südkorea.

Nebenprodukte unterliegen zusätzlichen Zöllen nicht mehr

Am 24. Januar 2020 kündigten die USA an, dass sie aus Gründen der nationalen Sicherheit ab dem 8. Februar zusätzliche Zölle in Höhe von 25% auf bestimmte Stahl- und 10% auf bestimmte Aluminium-Nebenprodukte erheben würden. Diese zusätzlichen Zölle wurden am 5. April 2021 vom US-Gerichtshof für Internationalen Handel (US Court of International Trade) für ungültig erklärt.

Ausnahmengesuche für spezifische Produkte:
Es ist möglich, für bestimmte Stahl- und Aluminiumprodukte Befreiungen von den oben genannten Zöllen zu beantragen. Das U.S. Handelsministerium ist für die Prüfung dieser Anträge verantwortlich. Die Einzelheiten  und die Formulare zu diesem Verfahren sind verfügbar unter: https://www.commerce.gov/232

Portal für Gesuche auf Produktausnahmen: Section 232 Exclusions. Auf dieser Seite findet man auch einen Benutzerleitfaden sowie häufig gestellte Fragen zum Ausschlussverfahren (vgl. auch zusätzliche Informationen auf Steel: Information on the Exclusion process).

Benutzeranleitung (auf Englisch)

FAQs (häufig gestellte Fragen, auf Englisch) (PDF, 548 kB, 11.03.2020)

Wie ist vorzugehen?

Allgemeine Bemerkungen:

  • Ausnahmebegehren für spezifische Produkte müssen von Tochtergesellschaften oder Vertretungen in den USA oder von US-Kunden eingereicht werden (“only individuals or organizations using steel in business activities (e.g. construction, manufacturing, or supplying steel product to users) in the United States”).
  • Die Prüfung der Begehren wird unter Gesichtspunkten der nationalen Sicherheit erfolgen und dabei festgestellt, ob ein Produkt in den USA in zufriedenstellender Qualität und in ausreichender Menge hergestellt wird und hinreichend verfügbar ist.

Anträge, die am oder nach dem 13. Juni 2019 eingereicht wurden:

Kontakt mit den amerikanischen Behörden:

  • Bei Fragen zum Ausschlussverfahren wenden Sie sich bitte an steel232@bis.doc.gov - Tel. +(1) 202-482-5642 für Stahlfragen.
  • Wenn Sie Probleme beim Hochladen der Formulare auf das Ausschlussportal 232 haben, wenden Sie sich bitte an den Portal Suport Help Desk unter Tel. +(1) 202-482-3203 oder 232ExclusionsPortal@bis.doc.gov

Publikation und Inkrafttreten genehmigter Ausnahmen

  • Gesuche, die am oder nach dem 13. Juni 2019 eingereicht werden: Der Status der Gesuche kann direkt auf der Website des US-Handelsministeriums eingesehen werden: https://www.commerce.gov/232 (für bis zum 12. Juni 2019 eingereichte Gesuche: www.regulations.gov (Referenznummer BIS-2018-0006 oder BIS-2018-0002)).
  • Normalerweise, werden Ausnahmebegehren nur für ein Produkt genehmigt. Die Ausnahmen sind auf das Unternehmen oder die Organisation beschränkt, die das Begehren eingereicht hat. Folglich gelten Ausnahmen nicht horizontal für alle Kunden oder Vertretungen.
  • Das US-Handelsministerium entscheidet über die Ausnahmebegehren in der Regel innerhalb von 90 Tagen. Verlängerungen müssen über das oben genannte Verfahren beantragt werden. Ausnahmen, die gutgeheissen werden, treten 5 Geschäftstage nach der Veröffentlichung des Entscheids unter www.regulations.gov in Kraft. Sie sind grundsätzlich für ein Jahr gültig. Verlängerungen müssen über das oben genannte Verfahren beantragt werden.
  • Am 14. Dezember 2020 wurden allgemeine genehmigte Ausschlüsse (General approved exclusions) eingeführt. Sie können von jeder einführenden Stelle verwendet werden. Sie gelten nur für den Fall, dass in der Vergangenheit keine Beanstandungen für bestimmte Stahl- und Aluminiumartikel eingegangen sind.

List of steel and aluminium products subject to additonal US duty

System zur Überwachung und Analyse von Aluminiumeinfuhren

Seit dem 28. Juni 2021 hat das US-Handelsministerium ein automatisches Einfuhrlizenzsystem eingeführt, um die Einfuhrtrends im Aluminiumsektor zu überwachen. Weitere Informationen sowie die Liste der Produkte, die dem Aluminium Import Monitoring and Analysis System unterliegen, finden Sie hier:

Aluminum Import Monitoring and Analysis System: Updates on Aluminum Import Licensing

Produktliste: Aluminum products

WTO-Streitbeilegungsverfahren gegen US-amerikanische Stahl- und Aluminiummassnahmen

Am 9. Juli 2018 leitete die Schweiz ein WTO-Streitbeilegungsverfahren gegen US-Einfuhrbeschränkungen für bestimmte Stahl- und Aluminiumerzeugnisse ein. Die Schweiz vertritt die Auffassung, dass diese Massnahmen gegen das WTO-Recht verstossen. Da die Konsultationen - welche die erste Phase dieses Verfahrens darstellen - es nicht ermöglicht haben, eine einvernehmliche Lösung zu finden, hat die Schweiz die Einsetzung eines Panels beantragt. Letzteres wurde am 4. Dezember 2018 eingerichtet. Das Verfahren ist derzeit noch hängig. Fünf weitere WTO-Streitbeilegungsverfahren gegen die fraglichen US-Massnahmen laufen aktuell ebenfalls noch. Diese sind von China, Indien, Norwegen, Russland und der Türkei eingeleitet worden. Aufgrund der Komplexität des Rechtsstreits und der Verzögerungen durch die weltweite COVID-19-Pandemie geht das Panel nun davon aus, dass es seinen Abschlussbericht frühestens in der ersten Jahreshälfte 2022 an die Parteien übermitteln wird.

Fachkontakt
Letzte Änderung 22.08.2022

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft SECO
Welthandel
Holzikofenweg 36
3003 Bern

E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/de/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/warenhandel/stahl_aluminium_einfuhren_usa.html