Steel and Aluminum Imports in the U.S.

Import tariffs imposed on certain steel and aluminium products from 23 March 2018

On 8 March 2018 the USA announced that, for national security reasons, it was introducing new import tariffs of 25% on certain steel products and of 10% on certain aluminium products. These tariffs apply to imports from all partner countries (including Switzerland), with the exception of those from Canada, Mexico, Argentina, Australia, Brazil and South Korea. However, steel and aluminium imports from Argentina are subject to quotas, as are steel imports from Brazil and South Korea.

Derivatives no longer subject to additional duty

On 24 January 2020 the USA announced that, for national security reasons, it would impose additional tariffs of 25% on certain derivative steel products and 10% on certain derivative aluminium products with effect from 8 February 2020. The US Court of International Trade declared these additional tariffs invalid on 5 April 2021.

Product-specific exemption requests

For certain steel and aluminium products it is possible to apply for exemptions from the tariffs described above. The US Department of Commerce is responsible for examining these requests. Forms and detailed information on this process can be found at https://www.commerce.gov/232.

The portal for requests for product exclusions is at Section 232 Exclusions. On this page you will also find a user guide and frequently asked questions about the exclusion procedure. Please refer also to additional information at Steel: Information on the Exclusion Process.

User Guide

FAQ

How should be proceeded?

General remarks:

  • Exclusion requests for specific products must be submitted by subsidiaries or official representatives in the USA or by US customers (“only individuals or organizations using steel in business activities (e.g. construction, manufacturing or supplying steel product to users) in the United States”).
  • Requests are examined from a national security perspective to determine whether a product is manufactured in the USA to a satisfactory quality and in a sufficient and reasonably available quantity.

Requests submitted on or after 13 June 2019:

Contact with the US authorities:

  • For questions about the exclusion process, please contact steel232@bis.doc.gov; tel. +(1) 202-482-5642 for questions about steel.
  • If you have any problems uploading the forms to the Section 232 Exclusions portal, please contact the Portal Support Help Desk on +(1) 202-482-3203 or 232ExclusionsPortal@bis.doc.gov.

Publication and entry into force of approved exclusions

  • Requests submitted on or after 13 June 2019: the status of requests can be checked directly on the website of the US Department of Commerce, at https://www.commerce.gov/232. For requests submitted up to 12 June 2019, please consult www.regulations.gov (reference number BIS-2018-0006 or BIS-2018-0002).
  • Exclusion requests are usually approved for one product only, and are restricted to the company or organisation that submitted the request. Consequently, exclusions do not apply to all customers or representations horizontally.
  • The US Department of Commerce generally decisions on exclusion requests within 90 days. If approved, exclusions enter into force five working days after the decision is published on www.regulations.gov. They are valid for one year in principle. Renewals must be requested using the procedure described above.
  • 'General approved exclusions' were introduced on 14 December 2020. They may be used by any importing body, but apply only if no complaints have previously been made about specific steel and aluminium articles.

List of steel and aluminium products subject to additonal US duty

Aluminium Import Monitoring and Analysis System

On 28 June 2021 the US Department of Commerce introduced an automatic import licensing system so that it can monitor import trends in the aluminium sector. Further information, including the list of products that are subject to the Aluminium Import Monitoring and Analysis System, can be found here:

Aluminium Import Monitoring and Analysis System: updates on aluminium import licensing

Product list: aluminium products HTS codes

WTO dispute settlement process – measures imposed by the USA on certain steel and aluminium products

On 9 July 2018, Switzerland launched WTO dispute settlement proceedings against import restrictions imposed by the USA on certain steel and aluminium products. Switzerland considers that these measures are contrary to WTO law. Since the consultations, which represent the first stage of WTO dispute settlement proceedings, were unable to find a mutually acceptable solution, Switzerland requested that a panel be established. The panel was convened on 4 December 2018 and proceedings are ongoing. Five further WTO dispute settlement proceedings against the same US measures are also still in progress. These were initiated by China, India, Norway, Russia and Turkey. In view of the complexity of this legal dispute and the delays caused by the global COVID-19 pandemic, the panel now expects to submit its final report to the parties not earlier than the first half of 2022.

Specialist staff
Last modification 01.11.2022

Top of page

Contact

State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO
World Trade
Holzikofenweg 36
3003 Berne

E-Mail

Print contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/warenhandel/stahl_aluminium_einfuhren_usa.html

Importations d’acier et d’aluminium aux États-Unis

Imposition de droits de douane sur certains produits en acier et aluminium à partir du 23 mars 2018

Les États-Unis ont annoncé le 8 mars 2018 qu’ils allaient imposer des droits de douane de 25 % sur certains produits d’acier et de 10 % sur certains produits d’aluminium pour des raisons de sécurité nationale. Ces droits de douane frappent toutes les importations exceptées celles en provenance du Canada, du Mexique, de l’Australie, de l’Argentine, du Brésil et de la Corée du Sud, sachant que les importations d’acier et d’aluminium depuis l’Argentine sont soumises à des contingents, de même que les importations d’acier depuis le Brésil et la Corée du Sud.

Droits de douane supplémentaires supprimés pour les sous-produits

Le 24 janvier 2020, les États-Unis ont annoncé qu’à compter du 8 février 2020, ils imposeraient des droits de douane supplémentaires de 25 % sur certains produits dérivés en acier et de 10 % sur certains produits dérivés en aluminium pour des raisons de sécurité nationale. Le Tribunal de commerce international des États-Unis (US Court of International Trade) a invalidé les droits supplémentaires le 5 avril 2021.

Demandes d’exclusion concernant les produits spécifiques:

Il est possible de demander une exemption des droits de douane susmentionnés pour des produits spécifiques en acier et en aluminium. Les demandes sont examinées par le Département du commerce des États-Unis. Les détails de cette procédure ainsi que les formulaires sont disponibles à l’adresse suivante:  https://www.commerce.gov/232.

Portail pour les demandes d’exemptions de produits: Section 232 Exclusions. Cette page contient également un guide ainsi qu’une foire aux questions concernant les procédures d’exemption (cf. informations complémentaires Steel: Information on the Exclusion process).

Guide d’utilisateur (en anglais)

FAQs (questions fréquentes en anglais)

Comment procéder ?

Remarques générales:

  • Les demandes d’exemption concernant les produits spécifiques doivent être soumises par les filiales ou les représentants américains des entreprises étrangères ou par les clients américains des entreprises étrangères («only individuals or organizations using steel or aluminum in business activities (e.g. construction, manufacturing, or supplying steel product to users) in the United States»).
  • L’examen des demandes a lieu sous l’angle de la sécurité nationale ; il vise à déterminer si l’article est produit et disponible en quantités suffisantes aux États-Unis et ce dans une qualité satisfaisante. Ce n’est qu’à défaut qu’une demande d’exemption peut être acceptée. 

Demandes soumises à partir du 13 juin 2019:

Contact auprès des autorités américaines :

  • Pour les questions relatives aux procédures d’exemption concernant l’acier, veuillez vous adresser à steel232@bis.doc.gov - tél. +(1) 202-482-5642.
  • Si vous rencontrez des problèmes lors du téléversement des formulaires sur le site, veuillez contacter le help desk du portail des exemptions au tél. +(1) 202-482-3203 ou 232ExclusionsPortal@bis.doc.gov

Procédure d’annonce et entrée en vigueur des exceptions approuvées

  • Demandes soumises à partir du 13 juin 2019: Le statut des demandes peut être consulté directement sur le site du Département du commerce des États-Unis: https://www.commerce.gov/232 (pour les demandes soumises jusqu’au 12 juin 2019: www.regulations.gov, (numéro de dossier BIS-2018-0006 ou BIS-2018-0002)).
  • Les demandes d’exemption ne sont en principe approuvées que pour un produit. Les exceptions sont limitées à l’entreprise ou à l’organisation qui a déposé la demande. Aucune exemption ne vaudra par conséquent de manière horizontale pour tous les clients ou représentants.
  • Le Département du commerce des États-Unis doit rendre en principe une décision sur les demandes dans les 90 jours. Les renouvellements doivent être demandés par le biais de la procédure susmentionnée. Les demandes d’exemption approuvées entrent en vigueur 5 jours ouvrables après la publication de la décision sur www.regulations.gov. Elles sont en principe valables pour une année. Les renouvellements doivent être demandés par le biais de la procédure susmentionnée.
  • Des exemptions globales (General approved exclusions) ont été mises en place le 14 décembre 2020. Elles peuvent être appliquées par n’importe quel service importateur et ne sont valables que si aucune contestation n’a été reçue auparavant concernant des articles en acier ou en aluminium spécifiques.

Liste des produits en acier ou en aluminium soumis à des droits de douane supplémentaires aux États-Unis

Système de surveillance et d’analyse des importations d’aluminium

Le 28 juin 2021, le Département du commerce des États-Unis a mis en place un système de licences d’importation automatique afin de surveiller les tendances dans le secteur de l’importation d’aluminium. Vous trouverez de plus amples informations ainsi que la liste des produits soumis au système de surveillance et d’analyse des importations d’aluminium aux adresses suivantes:

Système de surveillance et d’analyse des importations d’aluminium: Mises à jour sur les licences d’importation d’aluminium

Liste des produits: Aluminum products HTS codes

Procédure de règlement des différends à l’OMC contre les mesures prises par les États-Unis en matière d’acier et d’aluminium

Le 9 juillet 2018, la Suisse a ouvert une procédure de règlement des différends à l’OMC contre les restrictions à l’importation imposées par les États-Unis sur certains produits en acier et en aluminium. La Suisse considère que ces mesures sont contraires au droit de l’OMC. Les consultations – qui représentent la première phase de cette procédure – n’ayant pas permis de trouver une solution, la Suisse a demandé qu’un panel soit constitué. Ce dernier a été établi le 4 décembre 2018 et la procédure suit actuellement son cours. Cinq autres procédures de règlement des différends contre les mesures américaines sont également en cours, à savoir les procédures engagées par la Chine, l’Inde, la Norvège, la Russie et la Turquie. Vu la complexité du litige et les retards dus à la pandémie mondiale de COVID-19, le panel ne pensait pas pouvoir remettre son rapport final aux parties avant le premier semestre 2022.

Contact spécialisé
Dernière modification 01.11.2022

Début de la page

Contact

Secrétariat d’Etat à l’économie SECO
Commerce mondial
Holzikofenweg 36
3003 Berne

E-Mail

Imprimer le contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/warenhandel/stahl_aluminium_einfuhren_usa.html