Digital Trade / E-Commerce

As an important business and research location, Switzerland is committed to the development of comprehensive international rules on digital trade. Switzerland supports cross-border data flows and opposes restrictive localization requirements. Switzerland also contributes to the development of long-term, broad-based solutions for the digital economy in various international organizations.

Switzerland secures market access for its companies and is committed to ensuring best possible legal certainty in the area of digital trade. This is done on the one hand through comprehensive rules within the framework of free trade agreements, bilaterally or within EFTA, and on the other hand by means of active participation in the joint initiative on e-commerce within WTO, “Joint Statement Initiative on E-Commerce (JSI)”.

To strengthen legal certainty, Switzerland is also examining the use of further instruments, such as specific trade agreements on digital trade ("Digital Trade Agreements"). Improvements are constantly being sought in specific sub-areas, for example in the area of data protection, including the Swiss-U.S. Privacy Shield or standard contractual clauses on data protection for companies. Switzerland closely monitors international projects regarding data protection equivalence, particularly with regard to the UK and the EU. Other similar strategies are being examined where necessary.

To enable innovation and growth, regulations of the digital economy in Switzerland must preserve economic openness in the future. For example, restrictions such as data localization requirements must be avoided in legislative projects, as these can inhibit trade and conflict with Switzerland's international obligations.

Switzerland is also helping to bridge the digital divide by supporting developing countries in establishing reliable economic frameworks for e-commerce. This is done, for example, within the framework of the "E-Commerce and the Digital Economy" (ECDE) program implemented by the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD).

Last modification 07.12.2021

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/digitaler_handel.html

Commerce électronique

La Suisse, une place économique et scientifique importante, s’engage pour l’élaboration et l’approfondissement de règles internationales sur le commerce électronique. La Suisse soutient la libre circulation transfrontalière des données et s’oppose aux législations restrictives exigeant leur localisation. Elle s’engage dans diverses organisations internationales pour le développement de solutions de long terme largement soutenues en faveur l’économie numérique.

La Suisse veut garantir à ses entreprise l’accès aux marchés étrangers et soutient la meilleure sécurité juridique possible en matière de commerce numérique. Elle le fait d’une part dans le cadre d’accords de libre-échange négociés bilatéralement ou dans le cadre de l’AELE, d’autre part par la participation active à l’initiative conjointe sur le commerce électronique dans le cadre de l’OMC.
La Suisse examine par ailleurs la pertinence d’instruments visant à renforcer la sécurité juridique, par exemple des accords spécifiques en matière de commerce numérique («Digital Trade Agreements»). Des améliorations dans des domaines spécifiques sont aussi recherchées, par exemple en matière de protection des données (p. ex. Swiss-U.S. Privacy Shield, clauses standards de protection des données pour les contrats des entreprises). Les projets internationaux concernant l’équivalence en matière de protection des données, en particulier entre l’Union européenne et le Royaume-Uni, sont également suivis de près et ce genre de stratégie pourrait être évaluée.
Les réglementations concernant l’économie numérique devront maintenir l’ouverture économique, afin de soutenir l’innovation et la croissance dans le futur. Par exemple, il s’agit d’éviter, dans les projets législatifs, les restrictions comme les obligations de localisation qui restreignent le commerce et peuvent être contraires aux obligations internationales de la Suisse.
La Suisse contribue également à la réduction de la fracture numérique. Elle soutient la mise en place de conditions-cadres fiables pour le commerce électronique dans les pays en développement, notamment dans le cadre du programme sur le commerce électronique et l’économie numérique («E-Commerce and the Digital Economy») de la Conférence des Nations Unies sur le commerce et le développement (UNCTAD).

Dernière modification 07.12.2021

Début de la page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/digitaler_handel.html